when I grow up

06/02/2010

My head is in another place. A place with mismatched dishes stacked on floor to ceiling shelves, an old wooden table with white chipping paint, an array of different sized glass jars and bottles with fresh flowers changed daily, squeaky hardwood floors scattered with rustic area rugs. Crisp and cozy white linen over a bed that takes up most of the room, double doors opening to a worn out porch covered with potted flowers. Wicker chairs that swallow your body. A yard with a makeshift garden overflowing with tomato plants, tall corn stalks, brightly coloured squash with their vines coiling around a chicken wire fence. Hold me to it.. I will live this life one day. But for now I settle into my real life nesting area.

It’s a new Monday tradition: the noon hour hike up Knox. Rain/wind/sleet/a head full of hungover cotton balls couldn’t stop us.

Monday also brought forth how epic Mad Mango’s Laksa dish is. A whole egg? Really?

I started making a monster, it’s been a slow week in the motivation department. Maybe I’ll finish it by next week, or maybe I’ll continue searching home decor and beach house images all day/everyday.

Oh, I made that soup I said that I would. It’s kept me fed all week. Although I added less lentils than the recipe said due to the fact that I didn’t have enough.

My gorgeous and amazing sister surprised us with a visit. My mom called and left a frantically happy voicemail and I was able to decipher that Aiden and Billie were in Vernon and would like to have me over for dinner the next night. They managed to “whip up” some delicious spicy peanut sauce marinated chicken scewers to curb our hunger (and wine filled stomachs) until the main meal of AMAZING buffalo ribs from Aiden’s family buffalo farm. Let me talk about these ribs for a second, they were actually incredible. Truth be told; I’d never had a rib before this evening. I was a little apprehensive to the idea but in the end I definitely devoured 2 helpings. Along with the ribs we had a quinoa pilaf, cashew and cranberry salad, and roasted brocolli and califlower.

Have I mentioned the broken oven yet? The oven was broken. This meant most of this meal was cooked on the deck barbeque. Including the unbelievably tasty saskatoon berry pie we topped our belly’s up with. It’s always such a treat having the chance to see my sister and eat her creations. The addition of Aiden was a delight as well!

After all that delicious nonsense was over the games came out. This is a very common occurence in the Velisek house and probably has alot to do the the constantly full boxes of homemade wine. Anyways, dice and ping pong were our drugs of choice this time.

Early breakfast of Aiden’s saskatoon berry scones (also baked in the ol’ BBQ) topped with some homemade blueberry jam and ALOT of coffee to accompany it.

Some of this week’s findings:

This site has been my crutch. Check out the home hacks, how-to’s from an indoor winter swing to the perfect grilled cheese every time.

LoftLife Mag is awesome for new idea’s and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

